Build-Ability 2016 - vote now

Vote for your local school in the Build-Ability Challenge!Build-Ability Logo

Online voting is now open for BCITO's annual secondary school Build-Ability Challenge.

Teams from nineteen schools across the country have spent the past two months designing, building, and decorating playhouses.

The competition has put their building skills to the test and now the power is in the public’s hands.

The People’s Choice winner will be selected by the public by voting at The winners will be awarded a Team Shout by their schools BCITO Skills Broker.

Judges will choose the Supreme Winners who will receive a $1,000 voucher for their school’s technology department, with additional prizes for the Best Video Entry and Best Decorated Playhouse. The winners will be announced on 12 September.

The challenge is part of the Building and Construction Industry Training Organisation’s strategy to meet the growing need for apprentices. BCITO currently has a record 10,000 apprentices in training but still needs more if New Zealand is to keep up with the demand for housing.

The schools competing in the 2016 BCITO Build-Ability Challenge are:

Awatapu College Cromwell College Dannevirke High School Feilding High School Hornby High School Howick College Lytton High School Matamata College Nelson College Otahuhu College Palmerston North Boys' High School Queen Charlotte College Raglan Area School Rosehill College South Westland Area School Waitara High School Waiuku College Wanganui City College Whangaparaoa College.

Vote now!

More News

2017 IAG Trades Scholarship Programme

  • 25 May 2017

Applications are now open for IAG Trade Scholarships for BCITO Carpentry and Glazing apprentices.

Flooring Apprentice of the Year Awards 2017

  • 16 May 2017

Work in the flooring industry? You're invited to attend the biggest get-together and celebration scheduled for the industry this year.

See all News