BCITO board

The BCITO board of directors is appointed by national association members to ensure a wider representation of the building industry in line with the BCITO's constitution.

What the BCITO Board does

The BCITO board establishes and reviews BCITO's strategic objectives and performance, approves budgets and business plans. The board also monitors management and financial viability, manages risk and ensures compliance with statutory and Crown agencies.

Board members

Chair - Mike King

Mike King

Mike is an active member of the New Zealand Institute of Building and is responsible for managing nationwide projects with Summerset Management Group. Mike has extensive knowledge of the construction industry and has 30 years of project management experience in the UK and New Zealand. Mike's commitment to the industry has been acknowledged in his roles as honorary treasurer and past president of the central chapter of the New Zealand Institute of Building, as well as Chairman of the National Advisory Group recently reviewing the diploma qualifications for BCITO and InfraTrain.

Deputy Chair - David Fabish

David Fabish

David owns and manages his own construction company and has been self-employed since 1981. His company has trained many carpentry apprentices, most of whom now run their own businesses. He has been a Director of BCITO since 2010 and also a member of the Licensed Building Practitioners Board since February 2018.  David has been a Registered Master Builders Association member for two decades, spent 10 years on the Board and served as its National President from 2012 to 2014.  He was awarded national life membership in 2016.  David was Chair of the House of the Year Committee for nine years and also the Apprentice of the Year Committee for four years.  He is a Past President of the Taranaki Registered Master Builders and served on its Executive for 17 years.  David is passionate about industry training and raising the standards of workmanship and supervision in the building industry.

Kevin Sceats BSc. CMInstD

Kevin Sceats.png

Kevin is a professional director with over 35 years’ experience in the building industry and is a Chartered Member of the Institute of Directors NZ. He’s been involved with the Association of Wall & Ceiling Industries NZ (AWCINZ) and AWCI Australia (AWCIANZ) for over two decades and is a life member of both organisations. He brings to the BCITO Board many years of experience in corporate strategic executive and senior management roles within the New Zealand and Australian building industries across materials manufacturing, research and development, contracting and industry liaison.

He’s a long-standing member of a number of NZ & joint AS/NZS standards committees as well as ASTM (US) committees C11 (gypsum) & D14 (adhesive). As a business leader, Kevin has been a voice for the interiors industry for many years, working to find solutions to long-entrenched issues. He’s passionately involved with leading activities to lift skill levels across the construction industry with one of his key roles here in his capacity as director of BCITO since 2007.

Member of the Digital Engagement Project Steering and the CE Performance & Remuneration Review committees.

Rob GaimsterBCITO Board Member - Rob Gaimster

Rob is the chief executive officer of Concrete NZ. He has more than 25 years of experience in the construction industry, during which time he has developed an appreciation for appropriate and effective training. Rob has occupied numerous roles in the past, including as president of the UK-based Institute of Concrete Technology (ICT) and National Technical Manager with heavy building materials giant Cemex Materials. Rob is a chartered civil engineer and holds an MBA.

Ron AngelRon Angel

Ron has been a long-term national industry organiser with the NZ Amalgamated Engineering, Printing & Manufacturing Union Inc. (NZEPMU), and is a member of their Public Service and Infrastructure Industry Council. When the NZ Building Trades Union (NZBTU) was absorbed by the NZEPMU, Ron was appointed as NZEPMU's national construction industry organiser. He replaced David O'Connell from the NZBTU, who retired at the end of 2012.

Grant FlorenceBCITO Board Member - Grant Florence

Grant took up his role as chief executive of Certified Builders Association in early 2012, after holding the role of chief executive of a not-for-profit organisation in the rescue/service sector. Prior to this, Grant has been involved primarily in the residential building industry for over 25 years – initially in various senior leadership positions for Fletcher Residential, and then subsequently owning his own company focusing on internet technology in the building sector.

Kieren MallonKieren Mallon

Kieren has a proven track record in the construction industry throughout New Zealand. Whilst running a number of his own businesses in construction, joinery and architectural products, he is also actively involved in the advocacy side of the industry. He is a National Board Member of the Registered Master Builders Association. Kieren has also sat on advisory groups for Auckland City Council, Site Safe, ACC Corporation and the NZRMBA, as well as working as a mentor for Business Mentors NZ.