NAWIC Awards encourage excellence

The call has gone out for nominations in the 2019 NAWIC Excellence Awards partnering with BCITO, with entries open now and closing on Friday, 12 July.

In announcing the partnership with BCITO, National Association of Women in Construction (NAWIC) Chair Jenny Parker said, “I am very excited that NAWIC is partnering with BCITO for this year’s Excellence Awards. We have formed an excellent relationship with them already, and look forward to working even more with this organisation in the future.” 

The Awards aim to honour and encourage women already in the construction industry as well as recognise organisations actively working to redress the gender imbalance in the sector. This is the fifth year that the New Zealand Chapter has offered these Awards.

Very few women are currently involved in the wider construction industry - Stats NZ shows that the average percentage of women employed in construction in 2017 averaged just 13.3 per cent. This ratio is slowly improving – an Auckland-based trades training organisation has “about 30 women students to 200 men” enrolled, or a 15 per cent female-male ratio.
2019 Award categories are:

  • The Helen Tippett Award, the supreme award which celebrates any organisation’s or individual’s achievement in advancing the interests of women in the construction industry
  • Tradeswoman of the Year, celebrating the contribution tradeswomen make to the industry
  • Professional Woman of the Year, honouring women who have made a significant contribution to the sector
  • Rising Star, which celebrates women who demonstrate future leadership 
  • Excellence in Construction Services, which honours the contribution of women in administration, sales/marketing or operational roles 
  • Outstanding Achievement in Design, which recognises an individual’s contribution to the design aspect of a construction project 
  • Student/Apprentice Excellence Award, celebrating female students/apprentices who show a high level of potential and commitment to the industry.
Award winners will be announced at a gala function on Friday, 27 September in the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron’s Ballroom in Auckland, with guest of honour Hon. Jenny Salesa, Minister for Building and Construction.

NAWIC encourages every woman to nominate themselves or others around them for at least one Award. “This is YOUR time to shine – go for it!” says Jenny.

Get nomination forms and find out more.

NAWIC finalists 2018

2018 NAWIC Excellence Awards finalists

More News

#tradesforme a valuable experience for future tradies

  • 21 May 2019

#tradesforme was a two-day event hosted by BCITO that brought together 430 students from 34 different schools all over Auckland to give them a hands-on experience of what it’s like to work within the construction industry.

School leavers hooked on Painting & Decorating

  • 21 May 2019

Amelia Watts had never imagined entering the painting and decorating trade until she had the opportunity to get some hands-on experience with the help of BCITO and local Waikato firm Wilton Contracting.

See all News