Finalists transforming New Zealand's construction industry

Women are making their mark in New Zealand’s construction sector.

It is another record year of 190 entries, resulting in 53 finalists for the annual NAWIC Excellence Awards, sponsored by Naylor Love. This reflects the outstanding contribution being made by women across the industry.

The awards, which will be held at The Amokura Gallery, Te Papa, Wellington, on 1 July 2022, celebrate the achievements of women in construction along with honouring organisations who are actively working to redress the industry’s gender imbalance.

NAWIC Past president and Awards Convenor Stacey Mendonça says, “During a trying and demanding time for the construction industry, this awards programme has become a positive way to shine a light and acknowledge stellar women within the workplace. We are constantly facing challenges and asking more from the people in the industry, so we wish to thank all nominees for making the time to prepare their submissions for the 2022 NAWIC Awards. The judges commented on the high calibre and wide range of roles women are undertaking as well as balancing many other activities. They were inspired and impressed by the 190 nominees. This has meant an extremely difficult task for the judges and moderators to select the Finalists. All Finalists and nominees should be proud to be part of this year's awards. We are all excited to meet the Finalists at the NAWIC Excellence Awards Event in Wellington on 1 July.”

A huge thank you to our major event sponsor Naylor Love, and all our minor event sponsors, this event is possible because of your support.

The awards has ten categories which cover a wide range of roles across the industry.

Congratulations to the finalists in each category:

Helen Tippett Award Finalists

Renee Young

Pam McGarry

Becky Cox

Tradeswoman of the Year Finalists

Rebecca Smith

Nikita Porthouse

Chelsey Froese

Billie McDonnell

Anna Julian

Outstanding leader of the Year Finalists - Site:

Suzanne McCormick

Monique De Leijer

Gazelle Moinfar

Fiona Jerry

Ashleigh Kennedy

Outstanding leader of the Year Finalists - Office:

Zoe Thompson

Tanya Sundnes

Linda Kestle

Olivia Pearson

Jaclyn Pow

Rising Star Finalists - Office:

Rebecca Staples

Rachel Pettigrew

Tayler Hubber-Davis

Nalini Gounder

Cathy Xiong

Ashley Mason

Rising Star Finalists – Site based:

Tyler Watkins

Taylor Ashton

Sweta Chand

'Ofa-Ki-Mapalei Halatanu

Fatemeh Ghanbari

Emmolina May

Excellence in Construction Administration office-based Finalists

Shaheen Mangera

Sali Mann

Rusyl Ryman

Kelly Moore

Hollie Atarau

Excellence in Construction Administration site-based Finalists

Sarah van Asperen

Krittima Tamarat

Jen Dransfield

Danielle Matika

Outstanding Achievement in Design Finalists

Marie Vermes

Lynsey Dyer

Karen Ritchie

Isabella Franks

Clare Dring

Student or Apprentice Excellence Award Finalists


Lily Sanson

Hayley Ngo

Carla Verryt

Caitlin Sanford


Teigan Jopson

Tender-Joy Cooper

Samara Gilson

Katherine Ricketts

Jessica Moverley

A huge congratulations to you all, we look forward to celebrating on 1 July with you.

Find out more and attend the 2022 NAWIC Excellence Awards

More News

Building Abilities: BCITO Launches New Resource to Boost Deaf Participation in Construction

  • 6 May 2024

To coincide with New Zealand Sign Language Week (May 6-12), BCITO has launched a new website aimed at demonstrating the opportunities for Deaf New Zealanders in the construction industry.

From Corporate to Carpentry: Apprentice Blair Pedersen takes on a new opportunity

  • 3 May 2024

Building may be Blair Pedersen’s second career, but it’s given him a totally new outlook on life. Starting out in the corporate world, Blair came to realise that while he was outwardly successful, the lifestyle wasn’t for him. Some time out to decide on h

See all News